| Reviews | Music Review: Coheed & Cambria – Good Apollo

Reviews

Music Review: Coheed & Cambria – Good Apollo

Coheed and Cambria Good Apollo, I’m Burning Star IV, Volume One Length 71:38 Released September 20, 2005 Good Apollo, I’m Burning Star IV, Volume One: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness is the third studio album and rock opera by progressive rock quartet Coheed and Cambria. It was released on September 20, 2005. It […]

Coheed & Cambria - Good Apollo

Coheed and Cambria
Good Apollo, I’m Burning Star IV, Volume One
Length 71:38
Released September 20, 2005

Good Apollo, I’m Burning Star IV, Volume One: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness is the third studio album and rock opera by progressive rock quartet Coheed and Cambria. It was released on September 20, 2005. It is the first disc of the fourth section of a projected tetralogy. On the album In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3, the phrase “My Dearest Apollo I’ll Be Burning Star 4” is written after the lyrics for the song “The Light & The Glass.”

The album begins to resolve the issues of Claudio’s quest to protect the Keywork, and sheds more light on the demise of Coheed and his wife Cambria. Also, it sheds light on the issues of the Monstar virus and Jesse’s involvement in the saga. A graphic novel based upon the entire story of the album was released on the same day. This album, unlike the others, tells the story through the eyes of the writer.

Track by Track

Keeping The Blade –  Well over all this is just an instrumental introduction.  It was well written compared to some other introductions to progressive metal albums.  So I will give it a 7.5/10

Always & Never –   The song seems to be written in a minor scale, and it just gives you that saddened feeling,  the lyrics kind of switch on you towards the end.  It is an all acoustic song with Claudio singing.  Sounds pretty good so I will give it a 8/10

Welcome Home – In the case of this song, I don’t believe this is their best song, don’t get me wrong, it is a very good song.  But most of the time, when a song gets on a game like: Rock Band, or Guitar Hero.  It usually ends up being the only song people know by the artist.  To me that is a dissappointment for these guys, they do a great job at what they do,  and even though this isn’t my personal favorite, I will still give this one a 8/10

Ten Speed(Of God’s Blood & Burial) – The song, has a very catchy intro riff, and progressivly, you might say intensify,  but it is overall a pretty good song, this one is not my favorite but I can listen to it.  So I’ll give it a 7.5/10

Crossing the Frame – Honestly this song is one of those that, the first time you can’t stand, or at least I couldn’t, and after you listen to it a few times, it just keeps growing on you.  I mean now I can stand to listen to this song 10 times in a row without, just wanting to switch the song, and I mean now I have listened to it quite a few times, and I mean I  like this song,  so I am going to give it an 8.5/10

The Writing Writer –  I really never got into this song, I mean there are strong points like the other songs on the album, but I just think a majority of the song is just kinda boring compared to the others.  It is still a good song so I will give it a 7.5/10

Once Upon Your Dead Body – of all the songs on this album, this is the one that is not on my computer, because I honestly don’t like this song very much, I just think it is maybe the worst song on the album. I am going to give this song a 6.5/10

Wake Up – This is the only real acoustic song on this album, Claudio’s voice really fits the acoustic style.  Slow and sustained notes, with a pretty good guitar part in the back.  I mean, any band that goes from Progressive Metal to Acoustic, deserves a 9.5/10

The Suffering – This is my favorite Coheed and Cambria song, it is the one that got me into the band, I mean, it is a prime example of the best of Coheed and Cambria.  I really think this is one of the best, if not THE BEST song they have.  So I am going to give it a 10/10!!!!!


The Lying Lies And Dirty Secrets Of Miss Erica Court
– This was a good song, I mean I listened to it a few times through, and decided that it deserves a good score, just because I think it sounds good.  So I’m going to give it a 9.5/10

Mother May I – The deal with this song, is that you have to let it build up, the beginning does not give it justice, it takes about 2 minutes for the song to really build up to the first chorus, but when it gets there, it is worth it.  So I’m going to give this song 8.5/10

The Willing Well I Fuel for the Feeding End –  I really like this song, it is pretty strange at the start, but everybody has at least one song with a weird intro.  It ends up being a pretty good song, that I can listen to for a while.  So I’ll give it a 9/10

The Willing Well II From Fear Through The Eyes of Madness – This is another pretty good song, seems to  be a little repetitive, but it is well written, and I would most likely give it a solid 8/10

The Willing Well III The Telling Truth – This one is a powerful song, it shows us what Coheed and Cambria could be, and it is another song that is decently long, it’s 7+ minutes.  But it is still a really good song. So 9.5/10

The Willing Well IV The Final Cut – Another 7+ minute song, but this is another great song, and this was a great way to end the album, it could close off the album with a bang, so I will give this a 10/10 no doubt.

I averaged all of the scores, it came out to be a 7.799999999… so i’m just going to round up to an 8/10 for the entire album.

Well that’s is about it, If you read this review and see anything wrong with it, (grammar, spelling, song titles) or if you have any suggestions for music, movies or games for me to review.  Please email me at bkatula@project-11.com.

**NOTE: Even though it says Jeff wrote this, Brad was the real author of this review.

leave a reply

Skip to toolbar